<u>Council</u> <u>19th May 2010</u> Agenda Item No. 12 TABLED PAPER

ADOPTION OF RECOMMENDATIONS

The Council is asked to consider the following recommendations:

(iv) Executive - 12th May 2010

Minute No. 921 - Election of Leader, Deputy Leader and the Executive Members for 2010/2011

RECOMMENDED:

(1) That the following nominations be confirmed by Council: Leader - Councillor BowlesDeputy Leader - Councillor Gerry Lewin

Executive Members: Councillor Bowles - Leader Councillor Gerry Lewin - Executive Member for Sustainable Planning Councillor Mark Baldock - Executive Member for Housing Councillor Mike Cosgrove - Executive Member for Performance and Total Place Councillor Duncan Dewar-Whalley - Executive Member for Finance and Budget Management Councillor Lesley Ingham - Executive Member for Health Councillor John Morris - Executive Member for Safer and Stronger Communities Councillor Bryan Mulhern - Executive Member for Culture Councillor David Simmons - Executive Member for Environment and Rural Affairs Councillor John Wright - Executive Member for Regeneration including Learning and Skills

Auxiliary Executive Members:

Councillor Bryan Mulhern - Sustainable Planning

Councillor Ted Wilcox - Performance and Total Place

Councillor Trevor Fentiman - Finance and Budget Management

Councillor Pat Sandle - Safer and Stronger Communities

Councillor Gareth Randall - Environment and Rural Affairs

Councillor Ken Pugh - Regeneration including Learning and Skills

Minute No. 922 - Establishment of Committees and their terms of reference

RECOMMENDED:

(1) That a Licensing Act 2003 Committee be established with terms of reference as set out in paragraph 2.4 of the report and that Members agree that the Committee will have 15 seats which will be included within the political balance calculations.

(2) That the Committees set out in paragraph 2.2 of the report be established for the Municipal Year 2010/2011, with the terms of reference as set out in Part 3 Section 2 of the Constitution.

(3) That a General Licensing Committee be established to deal with non-Licensing Act 2003 functions and that Members agree that the Committee will have 10 seats which will be included within the political balance calculations.

(4) That amendments to the Constitution resulting from the revised establishment of Committees are agreed, as set out in paragraph 2.2. and 2.4 of the report.

(5) That it be noted that the Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedure for the Standards Committee need to be reviewed to include the local filter and that a report be considered by the Standards Committee on 14th July 2010 with a view to the amendments being submitted to Council on 21st July 2010 for approval.

Minute No. 923 - Allocation of Committee Seats and Committee Appointments for 2010/2011

RECOMMENDED:

(1) That the political balance calculations as set out in appendix I be agreed.

(2) That Group Leaders advise of their Groups' allocations to Committees prior to Annual Council on 19 May 2010.

(3) That the terms of office of the Independent Standards Committee members be noted and that the Council commences a recruitment campaign with a view to appointing two Independent Members in July 2010.

(4) That it be agreed that the Standards Committee be given delegated authority, if necessary, to temporarily appoint one independent member from another district Council as an interim measure.

Minute No. 924 - Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council and statutory bodies

RECOMMENDED:

(1) That the nominations as set out in Annex A to these Minutes be agreed.

(2) That a review of the process of appointments of Borough Councillors onto outside bodies, as proposed within the draft Third Sector Strategy, be completed by May 2011.